khastegari music video

I thought I would post a music video that has a funny take on a “khastegari” mentioned in Shideh’s post. Unfortunately, while the lyrics are in Farsi, I think the video itself will give our non-Farsi speaking readers a visual image of this tradition. It is by a young band – the Abjeez – comprised of Iranian and non-Iranian individuals who have come together to give a creative twist to Iranian pop music and who have enjoyed great success in recent years. Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under films, music

3 responses to “khastegari music video

  1. Haah, I love Aabjeez. This song is hilarious.

  2. Fatima

    This is so funny. Reminded me of my first meeting with my husband. Although our initial meeting was with our parents in a similar style it was more informal since it was in my college apartment. I remember the moment I gave him a glass of water, just like the girl gives the guy a glass of tea. Little did I know that would be the first of many glasses I would serve him. Shideh, I also told my mother I didn’t want to serve the tea. Instead she did 🙂

Leave a Reply

