babak’s castle

I bought a calendar with lots of beautiful pictures from different parts of Iran during our last trip in September.  This morning when I came to school, I turned the page and found myself stunned by the power of the image in front of me.  I had discovered an astonishing scene in east Azerbaijan (a province in the north west corner of Iran) that mesmerized me for a few minutes.  I imagined hiking these mountains while feeling the fresh air and the history of this castle amazingly built on a high cliff around 1000 years ago.  The calendar says that the castle belonged to a Persian soldier named Babak who fought against Iran’s foreign invasion and managed to protect himself and other soldiers in this castle for 20 years.  I don’t know how accurate this information is but I am determined to see this place next time I go to Iran.  It feels like I have been there before.  There is something in this picture that is too familiar, either the tale behind the image, the scenery, the castle itself, or a combination of them all.  Or perhaps it reminds me of the stories my grandmother (Beebee) and my most beloved secondary Beebee (Khadijeh) used to tell me when I was little, stories that always involved some sort of love story, betrayal, heroism, sacrifice, and beauty.  They were all happy ending when I was little, but somehow magically transformed into more realistic scenarios as I grew up. I miss them both very much but their stories continue to live with me and guide me as I move on.  

babak4.jpg

Image courtesy of majid_cs

babak3.jpg

Image courtesy of elham_m

babak-castle.jpg 

Image courtesy of Mahtab

  babak-caslejpg.gifbabal-casle.gif

1 Comment

Filed under Iran, love, photography, traditions

One response to “babak’s castle

  1. Fatima

    Wow, the pictures are breathtaking. It’s amazing how it was built between the rocks. Really looks like it comes from a child’s fantasy story. Although I can imagine a princess walking down those long stairs in a flowing dress, I’m sure the realities of living in this castle were much different.

Leave a Reply

