khalil gibran

dervish16bw1.jpg

A whirling dervish or Semazen in Turkey

You were born together, and together you shall be forevermore.
You shall be together when the white wings of death scatter your days.
Ay, you shall be together even in the silent memory of God.
But let there be spaces in your togetherness,
And let the winds of the heavens dance between you.

Love one another, but make not a bond of love:
Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.
Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup.
Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf
Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone,
Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.

Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping.
For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.
And stand together yet not too near together:
For the pillars of the temple stand apart,
And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.

2 Comments

Filed under love, poetry

2 responses to “khalil gibran

  1. Passer-by

    From Mawlana rumi

    You are in love with me,
    I shall make you perplexed.

    Do not build much,
    for I intend to have you in ruins.
    If you build two hundred houses in a manner
    that the bees do;
    I shall make you as homeless as a fly.
    If you are the mount Qaf in stability.
    I shall make you whirl like a millstone.

    **********************************

    You are silent, you are silent, drink silently!
    Remain concealed! remain concealed!
    You are a hidden treasure

    ************************************

    I need a lover and a friend
    All friendships you transcend
    And impotent I remain

    You are Noah and the Ark
    You are the light and the dark
    Behind the veil I remain

    You are passion and are rage
    You are the bird and the cage
    Lost in flight I remain

    You are the wine and the cup
    You are the ocean and the drop
    While afloat I remain

    I said, “O Soul of the world
    My desperation has taken hold!”
    “I am thy essence,” without scold,
    “Value me much more than gold.”

    You are the bait and the trap
    You are the path and the map
    While in search I remain

    You are poison and the sweet
    You are defeated and defeat
    Sword in hand I remain

    You are the wood and the saw
    You are cooked, and are raw
    While in a pot I remain

    You are sunshine and the fog
    You are water and the jug
    While thirsty I remain

    Sweet fragrance of Shams is
    The joy and pride of Tabriz
    Perfume trader I remain.

  2. Manata

    What a beautiful poem. Thank you for posting it.

    All best,
    Manata

Leave a Reply

